OUR LEADERS

GOVERNORS-GENERAL



Sir Solomon Hochoy 1962-1972

PRESIDENTS



1976 - 1987









Sir Ellis Clarke

1972-1976

ANR Robinson

1997 - 2003

1986 - 1991

PRIME MINISTERS

Chambers

1981 - 1986





Dr. Eric Williams 1962 - 1981



Basdeo Panday 1995-2000 2000-2001







Kamla Persad - Bissessar 2010 - 2015

Keith Rowley 2015 - Present

National Anthem

Forged from the love of Liberty, In the fires of hope and prayer, With boundless faith in Our Destiny, We solemnly declare, Side by side we stand Islands of the blue Caribbean Sea, This our Native Land. We pledge our lives to Thee, Here every creed and race, find an equal place, And may God bless our Nation, Here every creed and race find an equal place, And may God bless our Nation.

The words and music of the National Anthem were composed by Patrick S. Castagne

NATIONAL ARCHIVES 105 St. Vincent Street, Port of Spain Phone: 623-2874, 625-1591 Fax: 625-2689 Email: enquiries@archives.gov.tt

Website: www.natt.gov.tt

Our National Pledge

I solemnly pledge to dedicate my life to the service of my God and my country. I will honour my parents, my teachers, my leaders and my elders and those in authority. I will be clean and honest in all my thoughts, my words and my deeds. I will strive in everything I do to work together with my fellowmen of every creed and race for the greater happiness of all and the honour and glory of my country.

by Marjorie Padmore

© 2018



Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

NATIONAL ARCHIVES OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

FROM INDEPENDENCE TO REPUBLICANISM



Independence Day

Trinidad and Tobago was granted Independence on 31st August 1962, ending an era of colonial rule. This twin-island nation, which became unified in 1889, came under British rule at separate intervals. After 299 years of Spanish rule, the British took Trinidad in 1797 while Tobago was ceded in 1763 by the Treaty of Paris, after a tumultuous history of colonial rivalry.

For the new nation, Independence meant that the country would be a self-governing state with elected and appointed members headed by a Prime Minister. The Queen would retain her powers as Head of State which would be exercised through a representative, the Governor General. Hence on Independence Day 1962, Dr. Eric Williams became the first Prime Minister while Sir Solomon Hochoy became the first Governor General.

Republic Day

Trinidad and Tobago became a Republic on 1st August 1976. However, the event is celebrated as a public holidav on 24th September since this is the date that the first Parliament met under the new Republican Constitution. Under this new constitution, Trinidad and Tobago no longer owed allegiance to the Queen. The twin-island nation now had a President as Head of State and a Prime Minister as Head of the Government. When Trinidad and Tobago became a Republic, Sir Ellis Clarke - the then Governor General, became the first President.

The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago is governed by a bicameral Parliament. It consists of a Lower House of Elected Representatives, otherwise known as the House of Representatives, while the Upper House of Nominated Members is called the Senate. In 1980, Tobago gained limited autonomy with the re-establishment of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) which was headed by a Chairman. The first office holder was Arthur Napoleon Raymond Robinson. This post has been renamed Chief Secretary.

Sources:

Brereton, Bridget. A History of Modern Trinidad, 1783-1962. Kingston, Jamaica: Heinemann, 1981, Print,

The Government of Trinidad and Tobago. Our Flag and Other National Emblems, Port-of-Spain; Expresservice, 1962, Print,

Williams, Eric Eustace, History of the People of Trinidad and Tobago. London: A. Deutsch, 1964. Print.

Our National Flag



The colours chosen represent the elements Earth. Water and Fire which encompass all our past, present and future and inspire us as one united, vital, free and dedicated people.

- represents the vitality of the land and its Red people; it is the warmth and energy of the sun, the courage and friendliness of the people.
- White represents the sea by which these lands are bound: the cradle of our heritage; the purity of our aspirations and the equality of all men under the sun.
- Black represents for us the dedication of the people joined together by one strong bond. It is the colour of strength, of unity, of purpose and of the wealth of the land.

Our National Flower



Our National

Instrument

The Steel Pan



Scarlet Ibis



National Emblems

Our Coat of Arms



The Coat of Arms, which is representative of indigenous features of Trinidad and Tobago, was created in 1962 by the Coat of Arms Committee. It was later approved by the College of Arms, the official British institution responsible for the granting of arms. The Coat of Arms comprise the following main elements: the shield held up by two supporters, the helm or helmet at the top of the shield, upon which sits the crest, and the motto. The Coat of Arms is full of meaning and symbolism:

The three ships on the shield represent the Trinity and the three ships of Columbus. The shield's supporters are the Scarlet Ibis (representing Trinidad) and the Cocrico (representing Tobago). The Helm is the Queen's, denoting that we were once a British colony.

The three peaks were principal motifs of Trinidad's early British colonial seals and flag-badges. They commemorated both Columbus' decision to name Trinidad after the Blessed Trinity and the three peaks of the southern mountain range, called the "Three Sisters."

The fruited coconut palm had always been a central figure on the Great Seals of British Colonial Tobago, in the days when the island was a separate administrative unit.

	Our National Watchwords
	DISCIPLINE
	PRODUCTION
	TOLERANCE
-	
	Our National Motto
	TOGETHER WE ASPIRE,
	TOGETHER WE ACHIEVE

Birds

Our National





Cocrico